The Summer Bucket List: Thrive or Dive?

15 Aug

We’re officially less then a week away from move in day, and the excitement can’t be contained. With the end of summer quickly approaching, it’s time to find out how successful my summer really was…

1. See Gatsby

DONE! First day of summer! I adored it. The boyfriend, though? Not so much. He was probably just jealous of Leonardo DiCaprio… whom I for whatever reason called Leonardo da Vinci the entire 143 minutes.

2. Don’t turn into a lobster from being sun burnt

That was a joke. What was worse was the fact that my sunglass lines were worse than they ever. I’d share pictures with you all, but I burned them.

3. Finish my mom’s Mother’s Day gift

Yup. Best daughter award right here.

4. Dedicate a summer picture section to my blog.

Negative, but I did post several pictures from the riveting and exciting moments that make up my everyday life (catch my sarcasm there?).

https://scarvesandstlouis.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/summer-2/

https://scarvesandstlouis.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/summer-ii/

https://scarvesandstlouis.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/summer-iii/

5. Pass (and dare I say excel) in my summer economics course.

Complete! 97%, friends!

6. Reread the Hunger Games trilogy

Not quite, but I have been OBSESSING over the Catching Fire trailer, and have been repeatedly watching it almost every single day!

7. Have several barbecues/bonfires with my college and high school friends

Definitely some of the highlights of my summer!

8. Go to a place I have never been before

Richard Bong Recreation Center: Somewheresville, Wisconsin. My first (and perhaps last) camping trip.

I mean, honestly, I did have a good time.

I mean, honestly, I did have a good time.

9. Find a new ice cream place

Homers! Wilmette, Illinois

IMG_3861

10. Take a road trip through Illinois to convince myself there’s more to my state than Chicago and farms

There’s not. Fortunately there are some mini golf places, but not much else.

11. Run, run, run

Yes, surprisingly, that did happen.

12. …and then run a 5k

I’m still young….

13. See FUN at the Taste of Chicago (!!!!!)

Poor unfortunate me was out of town.

14. Break my Starbucks addiction (not my favorite, but I know I’d make my mom proud)

No. Sorry, mother. I’ve learned this summer that that will never happen.

15. Make this summer unforgettable

It was. Between hanging out with friends, vacations, the Blackhawks Stanley Cup win and even summer school, I know that this was a summer unlike any other. Cheesy, but true.

 

I mean, 9 1/2 out of 15 isn’t too bad, I guess. Definitely one of my greater life accomplishments.

One Response to “The Summer Bucket List: Thrive or Dive?”

  1. textbooks4you August 16, 2013 at 7:50 am #

    I love #10! This is something I tried doing myself…Unfortunately I was not able to be convinced either! haha. Enjoy your next semester!

Leave a comment